wǔgōng (五宮)

literally means “five palaces or temples;” this clearly refers to the five zàng (臧), and this alternate name, wǔgōng (五宮), seems to have influenced the translation of zàng (臧) as “palace(s)” by many authors before Unschuld brought the focus of translating zàng (臧) back to their function of storing the shén (神).

« Back to Glossary Index